Attached?

Have you ever felt so attached to a place, to someone, to something, yet you want to let go. A feeling that you both love and wish to hate so you could move on and get on with life. My attachment is to a city in which I experienced most of my growing up in. I Love this place, but I have to learn to let go of it.

This realization hit me while I was driving down one of the beautiful streets, full of life, history and culture. During my times that I have spent here, I have seen the great, bad and mediocre. I’ve had my fare share of drama, laughter and sadness to the point where I wanted to just leave everything and escape this god forsaken place. Instead I find myself falling deeply in love with the place.

As I drive or walk around, there is no corner no air no smell that doesn’t remind me of something that has happened in the past. Whether it’s a good or a bad memory I can almost feel what I felt back then during the one second flashback. It feels good, yet it makes you dwell about what you could have done when you had the opportunity back then, whether it may be with friends, or acing school or whatever it was then that you could have maximized on. There’s a quote that says “Time is like a river, you can not touch the same water twice, because the flow that has passed will never pass again… Enjoy every moment of life” I do try to enjoy every moment of life and live in the present, I realize that everyone has moved on so should i. but I find it hard to do so. I feel there’s some sadness in me that is associated with this city more like pleasurable pain, how screwed up it may sound but it’s the truth. I can not go back in time and say I should have, would have or could have. Not only that, I am guilty of feeling sentimental towards this city! I am attached to it! No matter how good or bad this city has brought upon me. I love it, just like how a mother loves her child whether it disappoints her or makes her feel proud!

One thought on “Attached?

Leave a Reply

